Skip to content

Bellevue High School Boys Water Polo was founded in 1998 by BHS student Evan Kaseguma and his mom, Julie Kaseguma. 2018 marks the program’s 20th season.

Sean Tierney, a former First-Team All-Eastern selection for Bucknell University, was the program’s first head coach. Bellevue has had three head coaches: Tierney (1998-2001), Andy Gramley (2002-2005) and Ed Brovick (2006-present); and four assistant coaches: Bryan Boyer (2002-2005), Bekki Lyon (2006-2007), Evan Kaseguma (2008-2016), Adam Florsheim (2017-present).

Bellevue has won the Washington State Championship four times: 2011, 2012, 2013 & 2014. Bellevue has appeared in the State Championship game eleven times: 2001, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016. Including 2017, Bellevue has qualified for the State Tournament in 18 straight years.

Bellevue has won the Kingco Division Championship four times: 2012 (co-championships), 2013, 2014 & 2016.

Several Wolverines have gone on to compete at the collegiate level. Tim Hummel (’05) and Derek Milligan (’06) led Loyola Marymount to multiple NCAA Final Four appearances. Hummel earned Third-Team All-American honors in 2008. Huston Middlesworth (’09) earned DIII Honorable Mention All-American honors in 2010. Please click here for a full list of BHS alumni that have competed at the collegiate level.

Three Wolverines have been selected by USA Water Polo to the US National Team: Huston Middlesworth (’09) — 2007 Junior Team; Marco Stanchi (’15) — 2013 Cadet Team, 2014 Youth Team, 2015 Youth Team; and AJ Rossman (’18) — 2015 Cadet Team. In 2014, Stanchi was selected as one of 13 Youth Team members to represent Team USA at the FINA Youth World Championships, guiding the US to 11th place and a Gold Medal at the UANA Pan-American Youth Championships. In 2015, Rossman was selected as one of 13 Cadet Team members to represent Team USA at the Darko Cucic Memorial Tournament in Kragujevac, Serbia.